Friday, February 24, 2012

Maggot Brain - Funkadelic

Maggot Brain

Maggot Brain is the third studio album by the American funk band Funkadelic, released in 1971 on Westbound Records. The album incorporates musical elements of psychedelia, rock, gospel, and soul music, with significant variation between each track. Pitchfork Media named it the seventeenth best album of the 1970s. In 2003, the album was ranked number 486 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Maggot Brain" Eddie Hazel 10:20
2. "Can You Get to That" (released as a single-Westbound 185) Clinton, Ernie Harris 2:50
3. "Hit It And Quit It" (released as a single-Westbound 198) Clinton, Billy Bass Nelson, Garry Shider 3:50
4. "You and Your Folks, Me and My Folks" (released as a single-Westbound 175) Clinton, Judie Jones, Bernie Worrell 3:36
5. "Super Stupid" Clinton, Hazel, Nelson, Tawl Ross 3:57
6. "Back in Our Minds" Fuzzy Haskins 2:38
7. "Wars of Armageddon" (Clinton, Tiki Fulwood, Ross, Worrell 9:42

Bonus tracks

2005 Re-release bonus tracks
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "Whole Lot of BS" Clinton, Worrell 2:11
2. "I Miss My Baby" U.S. Music with Funkadelic, (Haskins) 5:02
3. "Maggot Brain" (alternate mix, recorded in 1971) Clinton, Hazel 9:35

* Lead Guitar: Eddie Hazel
* Rhythm Guitar: Tawl Ross
* Keyboards: Bernie Worrell
* Bass: Billy Bass Nelson
* Drums: Tiki Fulwood
* Vocals: Parliament (George Clinton, Fuzzy Haskins, Calvin Simon, Grady Thomas, Ray Davis), Garry Shider, Bernie Worrell, Tawl Ross, Eddie Hazel, Billy Bass Nelson

No comments:

Post a Comment