Sunday, February 26, 2012

Ingrid Michaelson Human Again

Human Again (Deluxe Edition)

Human Again is the fifth studio album by Ingrid Michaelson. The album was released on January 24, 2012 on Cabin 24 Records. The first single from the album, "Ghost" was released on November 15, 2011.

In a recent interview, Ingrid spoke about the album, saying:

"It's coming along really well. We were hoping to have everything done by now, and we're not at all done. I keep writing more songs, so that's kind of a good thing, because I keep creating new things, and that's what's halting the process, because we have to go in and record that song. It's been a long, arduous process, but the harder you work on something, the prouder you are of it."

"I played a few of the songs for my father that we've been working on, and he asked me where are all the peppy songs were. Evidently, there aren't any peppy songs on this record. But that's OK, I'm not a little kid anymore. I love singing my little ukulele songs. But I feel like it's time to stand up and really sing. [This record] is fiercer and not as childlike. Not to dis my old work, but I feel like I've done the whole barefoot singer-songwriter thing"

"'Parachute' was a lot poppier, kind of darker. The next record isn't going to sound like that, but I think in the way that 'Parachute' sort of pushes out the limits of what I've been doing in the past; it's stepping across a boundary. I think that's what I'm doing with the record. I don't think the record sounds like 'Parachute,' but I think it's a bit stronger. There are some similarities in that it's different from my previous work. I'm singing harder, I'm pushing more. Hopefully that will be evident."

On Tuesday, November 15, Ingrid announced the tracklist and release date, as well as the album's first single, "Ghost," and unveiled the cover artwork.

The cover artwork was painted by Joe Sorren specifically for the album.

1. "Fire" 3:20
2. "This Is War" 3:19
3. "Do It Now" 3:16
4. "I'm Through" 3:27
5. "Blood Brothers" 3:12
6. "Black and Blue" 3:37
7. "Ribbons" 3:27
8. "How We Love" 3:33
9. "Palm of Your Hand" 3:11
10. "Ghost" 4:01
11. "In the Sea" 3:18
12. "Keep Warm" 3:18
13. "End of the World" 3:42

She plans on promoting the album by going on tour in Spring 2012. She will also be performing live on the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

No comments:

Post a Comment