Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Guitar Town - Steve Earle

Guitar Town (Remastered)(Bonus Track)

Guitar Town is the debut album from singer-songwriter Steve Earle, released on March 5, 1986. It topped the Billboard country album charts, and the title song reached #7 on the country singles charts. Earle was also nominated for two 1987 Grammy Awards, Best Male Country Vocalist and Best Country Song, for the title track.

The album was recorded in late 1985 and early 1986 in Nashville, Tennessee, at Sound Stage Studio. Overdubs were later recorded at Nashville's Emerald Studios. It was one of the first country music albums to be recorded digitally, utilizing the state-of-the-art Mitsubishi X-800. Each of the album's ten tracks was either written or co-written by Earle.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 489 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 2006, it ranked 27th on CMT's 40 Greatest Albums in Country Music.

The title track was later covered by Emmylou Harris.

All songs written by Steve Earle unless otherwise noted

1. "Guitar Town" – 2:33
2. "Goodbye's All We've Got Left" – 3:16
3. "Hillbilly Highway" (Earle, Jimbeau Hinson) – 3:36
4. "Good Ol' Boy (Gettin' Tough)" (Richard Bennett, Earle) – 3:58
5. "My Old Friend the Blues" – 3:07
6. "Someday" – 3:46
7. "Think It Over" (Bennett, Earle) – 2:13
8. "Fearless Heart" – 4:04
9. "Little Rock & Roller" – 4:49
10. "Down the Road" (Tony Brown, Earle, Hinson) – 2:37

Bonus track on 2002 Remastered CD

1. "State Trooper" [live] (Bruce Springsteen)

* Steve Earle – guitar, vocals
* Bucky Baxter – pedal steel guitar
* Richard Bennett – guitar, 6-string bass, slap bass
* Paul Franklin – pedal steel guitar on "Fearless Heart" and "Someday"
* Emory Gordy, Jr. – bass, mandolin, bass guitar
* John Jarvis – synthesizer, piano
* Ken Moore – organ, synthesizer
* Steve Nathan – synthesizer
* Harry Stinson – drums, vocals

No comments:

Post a Comment