Thursday, February 2, 2012

First Aid Kit: The Lion's Roar

The Lion's Roar
The Lion's Roar is the second studio album by Swedish folk duo First Aid Kit. It was produced by Mike Mogis and features contributions from Bright Eyes' Conor Oberst and The Felice Brothers. The album was released on January 23, 2012 in the UK via Wichita Recordings, followed by a US release on January 24, 2012 via Redeye Label.

The Guardian awarded the album 4 stars out of 5, commenting that it was "a bigger, better record than their debut, rounded out with the confidence of maturity and a smooth, assured indie-country sound." musicOMH was similarly positive, stating that "this follow-up could be the album that sees them nudge the likes Laura Marling and Mumford and Sons out of the way in order to claim a place at the top table." As with the band's previous work, critics praised Klara and Johanna's singing, with The Independent highlighting the band's "clear, characterful voices, employed in beautifully modulated, bell-like harmonies."

As of January 23, 2012, the album holds an aggregate score of 81/100 on Metacritic.

The album debuted at #88 on the Canadian Albums Chart.

1. "The Lion's Roar" 5:07
2. "Emmylou" 4:18
3. "In The Hearts Of Men" 4:14
4. "Blue" 3:12
5. "This Old Routine" Söderberg/Söderberg/Joe Andert 4:24
6. "To A Poet" 5:44
7. "I Found A Way" 4:13
8. "Dance To Another Tune" 4:51
9. "New Year's Eve" 3:07
10. "King Of The World" Söderberg/Söderberg/Conor Oberst 3:39

No comments:

Post a Comment